Showing posts with label heart rate. Show all posts
Showing posts with label heart rate. Show all posts

Monday, March 21, 2011

I know that it's a heartquake


There will be bonus points for getting the title of this post.
NO GOOGLING
So last week, it was a tough week. I think I packed too much in without enough recovery, something that I honestly rarely do. I tend to err on the side of a lot of recovery.
Because I'm lazy.
Ok, no really, I don't want to get hurt and the older I get the more I see how important recovery is.
For a while now, I've had this weird fluttering in my chest. Initially I thought it might have been some dehydration. Still possible. It comes and goes. After last week, it came and stayed. My resting HR has been a little high so I'm sure that could be some over training. Boston is 4 weeks away and boy am I ready. Hitchcock and I pretty much ran our long run on Sat. threatening each other so we'd get through it. After that run, I decided 2 days off. No running at all. I also decided to go see my Dr cause why not.
I really like my Dr. He's curious about things and tend to go on the side of less is more which I find refreshing.
They hooked me up to an ECG to see what was up with my ticker. It's true, my resting heart rate is higher than it's been on my last few doctor visits. When he asked me to describe what it felt like, I told him it felt like my heart was skipping a beat. He looked at his computer and said, well, that's because it is. He showed me the read out and yup, there it is! WEIRD.
It also feels weird. He went to talk to the cardiologist in his office. She, too, thought it was a little odd but not serious. Mostly odd because they don't know why it's happening.
Now I'm hooked up to a heart rate monitor for the next 24 hours. This thing is RIDICULOUS. Just imagine running with one of these instead of the nice Garmins we all have. As the nurse was hooking it up, she told me to tuck all the wires in my pocket so people wouldn't think I had a bomb. I love post 9/11 thinking.
In short, he doesn't think it's anything serious and prob. can't do anything about it but it's annoying.
I will update after they remove this contraption.

Thursday, January 8, 2009

I know that it's a heartquake

My last training cycle, I was a bit of a slave to my heart rate. I tried to do all my runs at the prescribed, ala Saint Pfitz, heart rate. The good side of this is it keep me from running too hard too often. The downside, did I run too slowly too often. I'm not really sure. This time around, I want to try and pick up the pace on most of my runs. Recovery runs excluded of course. I know there's a benefit to the slow boring slog of recovery running. I'm just unsure how much I should throw the heart rate out the window. I dont wanna be out there pushing 90% all the time. Comments and suggestions welcome.
I know endurance is not an issue for me. I do want to gain a bit more speed. Looking back to the first 2 weeks of my last training cycle, I'm already running faster. I just dont want it to come back to bite me in the ass.

Anyway, this morning did not go as planned mostly because of last night. Even though I was in my bed by 10pm, I didn't fall asleep until 1. Then the alarm went off before 7. I thought I had turned it off but I hit snooze so it went off again. Then Loren called me a little after 8. I barely remember the conversation because all I could think about was going back to sleep so I did. Until almost 9:30. I didn't get out for my 10 mile run until noon! NOt what I had planned!
The run was good. I did a bit of a progression run. I was hoping to do my last 3 miles under 9 minute pace. I miscalculated running in the park so my last mile was a hilly one around Harlem that was 9:07 pace. Oh well, close enough. 10 miles at 9:15 pace.